Stop Restoring Old Files in OSX Lion

 

I never really took the time to learn OSX Lion like I should have. When I got my first Macbook Pro, it came with Leopard. Since I was changing from Windows to OSX, I took several tutorials and Lynda.com classes to help ease that transition. When I bought a new Macbook Pro in 2012, it came with Lion. Other then the few obvious new features like mission control and launchpad, I never really learned what all it was capable off.

One feature that I had read about and run into several times was where when you open an application and it had files that had never been individually closed, they would all reopen again. While I can see the benefit of this, I find it to be incredibly annoying most of the time. I don’t know why, but it only took me about 16 months to finally get annoyed enough with it to find the solution.

If you’re into videos, I put a quick one together to show you how to turn it off. If you’d rather see the process, step-by-step, read on.

 

Here it is, step-by-step:

First, you need to open system preferences. You can find this either by clicking on the Apple Icon at the top left or by finding it in your dock:

systempreferences

 

Next up, go into the general settings:

general

 

Finally, make sure that Restore Windows When Quitting And Re-opening Apps is unchecked:

uncheck

 

One thing that I noticed is that once you change the settings, you seem to have to open an app twice before it registers the change. But from that point on, you won’t have to worry about a bunch of unneeded documents opening up again.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>